top of page

Dosti Chronicles

Updated: Sep 22, 2020

“You have been my friend. That in itself is a tremendous thing.” – E.B. White, Charlotte’s web

Think of some of your life’s best moments. I guarantee you, more than half of them are those you spent with your friends. Throughout our life, our friends are the ones who constantly help us grow, laugh with us and cry with us. And it’s about time we give them the appreciation they deserve.


On occasion of Friendship Day, we asked our readers to answer some questions about their lifelong best friends, and people did not hold back the love they had for them!


Here are some of the best responses.

Some shared interesting stories of meet-cutes and first impressions.

  • “We met in college. Initially we both thought that we both were khaduus but we turned out to be best friends.” - Samiksha Vartak, about Maithili

  • “No one believes this but we actually met on Pinterest! We started talking there and now we are best friends.” – Anonymous


Many talked about their best and funniest memories with friends.

  • “When we went to Churchgate for our college work and got lost. We got on the wrong bus, got a whole tour out of it, then got off at the wrong place and started walking in the opposite direction of our destination; but that’s not all! After that, we got lost inside Elphinstone, and I got separated from them inside, then they somehow made their way out, while I was still stuck inside. Then FINALLY, I met them back out, and we enjoyed eating at Jai Hind’s canteen and just lazed around at Marine drive. It will always be one of the most chaotic yet memorable memory of mine with them.” - Ayushi Deb, about Prachi and Rupal

  • “Studying with her on phone before exams at 1 in the morning.” - Rtr. Anjana, about Shalini

  • “Sitting on a picnic table, watching the sunset and eating a load of junk food.” – Shonima Bhatia, about Divya and Tanvi


Some also shared the moment they knew they had found their lifelong friends:

  • “In 5th grade we had participated in an anchoring competition in school as a pair and we won. Later, we took part together in all different competitions and it was always a victory. That is how we started tuning with each other and now we are best of friends”. - Shifa Chunawala, about Rashi Chheda

  • “When she created the safe space, I was craving for and I finally cried and let out emotions that I was supressing for 11 months!” - Ananya Bose, Purti Ghate

  • “The moment I truly realised this, was when I realised, that they could read my illegible texts, see I am bad at typing so I make many typos, most of my statements are illegible, but they understand, and I knew in that moment, that I'm never going to find people like them.” – Ayushi Deb, about Prachi and Rupal


While some shared their go-to road trip spot with their friends:

  • “Probably to Jaipur or Rajasthan or any place with old havelis and fulfil our wish of having a teenage 'coming of age' movie experience.” – Noopur Rahane, about school friends

  • “Maybe we won’t decide it. We would get in the car and just go where road takes us.” – Samiksha Vartak, about Sayali


Others shared a song they would dedicate to their friends:

  • Yaaro ne mere vaste because this song has all the things dedicated to a friend.” – Arya Asolkar, to school friends

  • Yeh dosti hum nahi todenge because it shows the fun nature of our friendship.” – Yash Mouje, to an anonymous friend

  • "Life is crazy from the movie Wake Up Sid because after being with her my life becomes crazy.” – Rtr. Anjana, to Aditi

We asked people to share the one thing they would like to say to their friend that they can’t or couldn’t say in person

  • “I love them all a lot. More than they know and making them laugh and seeing them happy makes me feel so good and I’d never give up on them.” – Nitya

  • “I love all of them! And I'm grateful I ever met them!” – Rtr. Anirudha Chaube, to Stella, Noopur, Isha, Surbhi, Atharva (2), Vaibhav, Vishal, my college friends and my school friends

  • “I wish I didn’t waste time back then; I took way long to realise what a gem of person you really are.” – Rtr. Jui Mhatre, to Fenil

  • “Life time mere sath rahana. Chahe kuchh bhi ho.” – Ritesh Gupta, to Santosh Kumar Gupta (dad), Raj Molike, Gurjot, Omprakash, Divyank, Mahima Lohani, Shubham Chincholkar, Adarsh, Aditya

  • “I admire them.” – Yash Sawant, to Nitya, Virnit, Tanay, Ananya, Yaksh

  • “Thank you for everything.” – Sampada Joshi, to a college mate

I would love to write an entire paragraph on friendship and how they are so important in our lives, but I believe these above responses convey my thoughts perfectly.


Let’s celebrate these beautiful people in our lives not just on a special day like today, but every day. These are uncertain times, and the only thing constant is our love for the people around us.

Go tell them you love them and let them know that you’re thinking of them today. Happy friendship day to you from the entire Rotaract Club of Thane Hills family!
120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page